Caloosa Chapter History

The Caloosa Chapter was chartered in Jannuary 1973 as the eighteenth chapter of the FLSSAR. Organizing President was Sidney Scott King, Jr. who had first become an SAR member in 1952.† Before retiring to Fort Myers Beach, he had served as President of the Richard Montgomery Chapter in Dayton Ohio and the George Washington Chapter in Alexandria Virginia. In his desire to maintain an active membership in SAR, he sought names of Compatriots in the Fort Myers area who were previous members, and others who had eligibility.

Organizational meetings were held in 1972. The Charter was formally presented at a Charter Night Banquet meeting on 22 February 1973 with 38 members attending. The Chapter was named Caloosa after the aboriginal Indians who had inhabited southwest Florida whose tribe had lived at Mound Key in Estero Bay in the coastal area of the present Lee County. Persecution by the Spanish and smallpox reduced their numbers until they ceased to exist as a tribe early in the eighteenth century.

The Caloosa Chapter, FLSSAR includes cities of Fort Myers, Sanibel, Cape Coral, Bonita Springs, and outlying districts in Lee County Florida. Since its early days, the Chapter has been active in the community by participating in patriotic events, supporting Americanism and student activities, and recognizing the contributions of first responders and community leaders. In 1974, the Chapter organized a luncheon to be held on or about September 17th to honor the adoption of the United States Constitution. Local DAR Chapters were invited to participate. The† Commissioners of Lee County and the Mayors of Fort Myers, Cape Coral, and Sanibel issued proclamations declaring the week of September 17-23 as Constitution Week and inviting every citizen and institution to† join in the commemoration. The observance of Allegiance Sunday in local churches is promoted by the Chapter.

In 1976, the Nationís bicentennial year, the Chapter promoted a ceremony for the swearing of new citizens. Through the Chapterís efforts, the swearing-in of 59 new citizens took place at the Exhibition Hall in Fort Myers on 2 July, 1976. Federal Judge Ben Krentsman of Tampa officiated. From these beginnings to the present, the Chapter has continued to be active in the community by furthering patriotic education and preserving understanding and appreciation of the principles of Government which our forefathers established.

May 14, 1973 Ė Skylab, the United States' first space station, is launched.

Richard Nixon, the President of the United States, began his second term on January 20 , 1973